OSX Leopard installed on Mini 9 w/ No DVDrom

For those that google and find my post please use this at y0ur own risk.

Background: I purchased a Dell mini because it was cheap :

+310 16 gig SSD with 1 gig memory

+30 for J613H 1 Card,Wireless,Internal Bluetooth,QH/YM ordered seperate

+20 2 gig memory stick

+18 Zagg Invisibleshield

I later found out that OSX leopard 10.5 could be run on it. I was intrigued and wanted my mini to have the same OS as a macbook! How cool would that be?

So if you have (2) usb thumb drives and a windows pc you too can load OSX without the need of a CD/DVD rom. I didn’t want to spend any more than I had to enjoy my unit.

Step One: Check list
* One Vista (or possibly XP) computer…but I have only tested on Vista.
* One copy of OSX, in my case I used a retail DMG backup of 10.5.4
* USB Flash drive #1 2gig (For OSX Leopard 8+ gig flash drives are best)
* USB Flash drive #2 8gig (For Type11 – Makes PC think it’s a Mac)

Step Two: Create the Type11 Bootable flash drive
The type11 or boot123 is commonly known on the mydellmini, as the tool that allows your pc to boot OSX because it gives the OS the impression that you are in fact a real mac. Let the cloaking begin:

To make the Type11 USB Flash Drive you will need access to a Windows machine.
* Format the USB stick in the FAT32 format.
-right click and format flash drive
* Download Syslinux 3.63
* Expand that zipfile. In the win32 subdirectory there is an executable called syslinux.exe. At the command prompt line (Start—> Run—>CMD) type:
run syslinux -ma f: and press enter (assuming F: is the drive letter referring to your freshly formatted USB stick and your command line is in the right directory of syslinux; replace with the correct drive letter if necessary running this command will happen quickly. I didn’t even think it happened the first time but rest assure it works. )
* Copy the contents of the Type11 v7.7 ISO http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=8c116d784f7e1de2ab1eab3e9fa335cae14d84bdb06f32a8(not the image itself) to the USB flash stick, taking care not to overwrite anything that syslinux put on the USB stick (syslinux only placed one file on the stick that is hidden) ( I use Winrar to extract the ISO to my flash drive)
* You now have a bootable Type11/Boot132 USB flash drive
* You can test it right away by rebooting your Mini 9 and changing the boot sequence to USB boot.

Step Three:
Create an OSX Leopard Bootable flash drive
With your second USB flash drive plugged in to windows xp/vista

Download macdrive 7.0
once installed click on format or repair Mac disks
select modify Mac volumes(create, format and delete Mac volumes)
with the usb drive connected click next
you will see 2 volumes on the drive select the usb drive.
format your usb drive with HFS+

mount the dmg file and proceed to copy your downloaded .dmg contents using the below method

Open a command prompt (start —- run—cmd)
Type: diskpart and press Enter. ( it will Create the MBR for the device)
Type: list disk. A list of your connected hard drives will appear. Make sure you see your flash drive on the list. In the example below my 8GB flash drive is Disk 2. (images to come)

Type: select disk 2 (but change the disk number to whatever your drive is)
Type: clean. It should only take a few seconds to clean.
Type: create partition primary. This command should complete almost immediately.
Type: select partition 1
Type: active
Type format fs=fat32 to format the flash drive. This took about 10 minutes on my drive.
Type assign
Type exit

Now we need to copy the DMG contents to the USB drive Now that the MBR has been setup.

I assume d: DVDROM drive e: is the usb drive (d can also be a mounted DMG file of OSX leopard)

Now xcopy d:\*.* /s/e/f e:\

Step Four:
Insert the Leopard thumb drive into a USB slot on the right hand side of the Mini9
Insert the Type11/Boot132 thumb drive into a slot on the left.
Turn on the machine, make sure USB Legacy is Enabled in the BIOS.
Press 0 while booting to get the boot menu, choose USB Drive, you should see some SYSLINUX text zipping across the screen, when you get a prompt, hit enter. You’ll proceed to boot up into the Leopard installer.

Sleep is in the latest version- just make sure USB Legacy and USB Wake are disabled in BIOS.
Ill be testing these instructions soon but for those daring!

12 responses to “OSX Leopard installed on Mini 9 w/ No DVDrom

  1. Pingback: OSX Leopard 10.5 Mini 9 USB install « Digital Life for the Technology Voice

  2. amazing …
    may i bookmarks this posting in my blog ? (http://blog.cakdadan.com) the credits are yours

  3. I am having difficulty and confusion on preparing the Leopard installation flash drive. I followed your instructions to format the 8GB flash drive into HFS+. However, when I did “list disk” in diskpart, the flash drive was not listed. Instead, only my windows-based hard drive was listed. Mind to share what I did wrong? Also I was not quite sure of why should we create FAT32 partition on top of the HFS+ flash drive. Mind to explain? On my 2nd thought, should just I copy all Leopard DVD content directly into the HFS+ flash drive without re-partitioning / reformating it? — I am waiting for my Leopard DVD shipment and cannot test it right now. But would appreciate for any clarifications.

  4. I have the same questions as MozillaFireFix. Any clarification would be very appreciated.

    Thanks

  5. iLL GET TO IT SOON. FIGHTING ARKANSAS ICE STORM ATM.

  6. Same as Ray and MozillaFireFox… the USB drive only shows up when you type “list volume”. But you can’t complete this with it as a volume.

  7. I just read from another (very informative) forum that you can use TransMac to build the Leopard USB flash drive from a .dmg file. The link is here: http://mydellmini.com/forum/how-to-usb-install-no-dvd-drive–p28268.html#p28102

    Too bad I don’t have such .dmg file as I don’t have access to a Mac at all… But heck you may use your intelligence to find one in the P2P world…

  8. Followup to my own comment: It appears that TransMac can dump Leopard installation DVD into .DMG as well! So TransMac is definitely the way to go! I will test as soon as I can and report back.

  9. The diskpart utility in XP doesn’t show the volume, in Vista it works fine 😀

  10. Pingback: OSX Leopard installed on Mini 9 w/ No DVDrom « Digital Life for the Technology Voice « My Eclectic Life

  11. When I tried to log on to family dekstop, a message saying “there are not sufficient resources to load” my account with the default something-or-other came up. The message had a timer that was going to close the window, and then when it closed it would not log me on. I couldn’t turn it off normally so I cut the power. When I turned it back on I logged on fine?
    I read here Network Support but couldnt make sense?

     

  12. A pleasant submit as well as great ideas.

Leave a Reply

